Skip to main content

Board of Trustee Election

Groesbeck ISD Board of Trustee Election

The Board of Trustees consists of seven members elected to serve, without compensation, for overlapping terms of three years each. Elections are conducted in May. Candidates run for specific places in 1A, 2A, 3A & 3B, 4A & 4B, 5A and At-Large.  Single member districts 1 through 5 represent a specific geographical area.  The two At-Large positions represent the entire Groesbeck ISD. The board annually elects a president, vice-president and a secretary at the organizational meeting for the election of officers.

To be elected to the Groesbeck ISD Board of Trustees, a candidate must receive a plurality of votes, meaning more votes than any other candidate, except as otherwise provided by law.

District Map (pdf)


Groesbeck I.S.D.
1202 N. Ellis
Groesbeck TX 76642

Teresa Battrick
(254) 729-4136
Fax (254) 729-2391


Tammy Rand
(254) 729-4139
Fax (254) 729-2391

Related Links

Texas Secretary of State Elections Division

Texas Ethics Commission

May 5, 2018
GISD School Board of Trustee Election

Expiring Three Year Term:  Single Member District 3, currently held by Tom Sutton; Single Member District 4, currently held by Randy Hunter; and Single Member District 5, currently held by Aslone Foy.

(Names of Those who have Filed for Place on the Ballot)

Single Member District 3

  Tom M. Sutton
  Tom Levi

Single Member District 4

  Jud Hughes
  Randy Hunter

Single Member District 5

  Dr. Garry Dossey
  Aslone Foy



Policy BBA (LEGAL)

Candidate Application Process (Filing Period – January 17 through February 16 by 5:00 pm)

Completed forms must be filed in the Groesbeck ISD Administrative Office, located at 1202 N. Ellis.  Candidate packets are available in the Groesbeck ISD Administrative Office during the designated filing period.

Notice of Deadline to File for Place on the Ballot

Place, Dates and Times

Early Voting April 23 – April 27 Monday – Friday
  April 30 – May 1 Monday and Tuesday

GISD/Limestone County:  Early Voting by personal appearance will be conducted at the Groesbeck Convention Center, 106 E. Navasota Street, Groesbeck, Texas between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. on April 23-April 27 and between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on April 30-May 1.

GISD/Robertson County: Early Voting by personal appearance will be conducted at the Robertson County Election Center, 302 N. Main Street, Franklin, Texas between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. on April 23-April 27 and between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on April 30-May 1.


Election Day May 5, 2018,  Between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.


Trustee District 5 1, 2 & 5


Polling Location

Voting Box 1A-SG1A

Voting Box 2A-SG2A

Voting Box 5A-SG5A


Groesbeck Convention Center
106 E. Navasota
Groesbeck, TX 76642


Trustee District 3




Voting Box 3A-SG3A


1061 FM 1512
Jewett, TX 75846


Voting Box 3B-SG3B


Church of Christ at Old Union
FM 937
Groesbeck, TX 76642


Trustee District 4




Voting Box 4A-SG4A


Mary Helen Nance Community Center
(Old Thornton School House)
301 E. 8th Street
Thornton, TX 76687


Voting Box 4B-SG4B

GISD Limestone County and GISD Robertson County voters will vote at the Kosse Community Center on Election Day





Kosse Community Center
201 N. Myrtle Corner of HWY 14 & Myrtle
Kosse, TX 76653


Important Dates

First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail January 1, 2018
Last Day to Register to Vote April 5, 2018
First Day of Early Voting April 23, 2018
Last Day of Early Voting May 1, 2018
Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) April 24, 2018
Canvassing for the Election May 8 – May 16, 2018


Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot (Posted 12/18/17))

Notice of General Election (Posted 02/23/18)

Order of General Election (Posted 02/23/18)

Resolution to Order School Board Election (Posted 02/23/18)

Notice of Drawing for Place on Ballot (Posted 02/23/18)

Public Notice of Test of Direct Record Electronic Voting System Equipment (Posted 03/29/18)

Notice of Ballot Board (Posted 05/02/18)

Early Voting Ballot Board Notice (Posted 05/03/16)



Application for Ballot by Mail (English) (Spanish) ( E-mail transmission of a completed, scanned application for a ballot by mail containing an original signature may be submitted to or  If you do not receive a reply that your application was received, please call 254-729-4136. ) Last day to apply for Ballot by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) – April 24, 2018.

Application for Place on the General Election Ballot (English) (Spanish)


Election Quick Links